Its been a rollercoaster ride – part 2 : Borneo –

Posted: March 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

Hi all,

So yeah, after abu dhabi, i was packed and sent to Balikpapan, in Borneo island. I arrived ther almost midnite and went to bed at 2 am. All of which.. had make me wake up late and only able to come to the office at 11 am, on my first day!! Which really bad and u should not follow :p! ( PS: i did have difficulty in waking up early in the morning.. i can sleep like a baby and even an earthquake 5.0 Richter cant make me wake up!). On my second day, i went for huet and sea survival training coz my base is an offshore base.


HUET is helicopter underwater escape training. So basically, they put us in a chopper simulator, pull it down to the pool and turned it upside down, and then we have to get ourselves out of it within 10 seconds. All underwater. It sounds easy when i write about it, but it definitely not in the real practice. Its hard to differentiate which one is the chopper’s door and which one is the window. Especially when u have the water flow to ur nose! and they asked u not to be panic at that situation!!

The sea survival is also pretty kewl. We are taught of the basic survival thingy on the sea.. Like how to jump from the rig to the ocean, how to keep ourselves safe & warm – on which the instructor told me that if we nearly have no fat/small – we are pretty much amongst the first who’ll not survive from hypothermia/cold – , etc πŸ™‚ (Geez, thanks chief for letting me know that fact!).

The next days, i spend most of my time in workshop. U know, dealing with C-spanner, screwdriver, hammers, connect & disconnect tool, etc2. All which are really fun and to be honest, most of the engineers, maintenance crew and operators there has helped me a lot and been nice. I really had a great time ther πŸ™‚

On the second week when i was ther, i finally got a chance to go offshore. It was located in a swamp and to get ther, i had to ride on a sea truck for about an hour. ITs pretty hot and u can feel the salty water touching ur face when the sea truck make a manouver. And, sometimes.. if u r lucky, u may get a chance to take a peek on wild crocodile πŸ™‚

When i arrived at the rig, for the 20-hours long job, funny thing happened. I reported to the radio room of my arrival, and suddenly, there was a police came and asking for my ID. He talked to me in English. He asked me, “Can you speak Malay?”, which spontaneously i answered it mimicking my malaysian friends, “Saya bisa cakap sikit malay” ( i can speak malay a little). Then he asked for my working permit. I told him “why i need that?”. He said ” coz u are foreigner!” . I was surprised. Then i said in Bahasa. “Saya orang indonesia asli pak. Dari Surabaya” (I am indonesian, from surabaya). And he didnt believe me!! He said “Nobody in Surabaya speak like you or looks like you!”. I tried to explain to him that i am truly Indonesian, but not getting anywhere. He still didnt believe me. Being cornered then i use my last card. I speak in traditional language (javanese) with Surabaya’s dialect. Then, it works! But still!! i never thought that they would mistake me as being a foreigner in my own motherland!!Β  Though i admit that i am a mix of arabic and javanese (indonesia) descendant, but still??? Its weird that people did not recognize u as a native in ur own country u know.

Anyway, after that, i went for another offshore trip at a big jack-up rig with a very blue sea underneath.. – So lovely and tempting for swimming on it – . Its pretty huge and we have to climb the steel stairs to get on board. Its not so easy to climb, especially when u have to wear the steel-toed boots and the waves just moving like crazy! πŸ™‚ If some of you wondering what is living in the offshore looks like? actually.. its pretty fun.Β  I mean, i got a nice room with bathroom inside, and TV cable with HBO stuff. It also has a cinema room and gym where u can chill out and work some muscle. And its very pretty at nite, with all the lights and brightest stars (thousands of it) above.Β  On this second trip, the logging job itself last for more than 30 hours. One important thing i learn from that. Before job, stock ourselves with tons of red bulls. We gonna need that! πŸ™‚ A lot!

I really love offshore and to be honest, i cant wait to go back again and next time, i wish i can do the logging myself πŸ™‚ Just like my awesome mentor and all of the other awesome engineers in my base!Β  Thats y, now im sent to Siberia for school πŸ™‚ So that i can be an awesome wireline engineer soon. And for that, please wish me the best:)

cheers!

Comments
  1. qonita says:

    looks fun..hope u enjoy it ni πŸ˜€

  2. pass the school and face the client, then you really wish for luck! πŸ˜€

  3. KaEl says:

    haha..tool stuck nya belon ..good luck..whuw siberia..dingin bo..

Leave a Reply

